WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Tan Hill

Well, that was lovely. And snatched. Rich managed to change his in-office day so I could make the most of gorgeous weather. And make the most of it I did.

Through Langstrothdale to Hawes for lunch (where they weren't serving food for another half an hour so I was glad I'd made a sandwich). Over Buttertubs to Swaledale and then I was in two minds.  I knew what I wanted to do because I haven't cycled up it before but it always looks very intimidating - the road from Keld up to Tan Hill.  

Looking from a distance, it didn't look too bad and pausing for a moment gave the flock of sheep chance to clear it. I stuck to the outer edges of the road and it was a very pleasant uphill trundle and this is the valley it opens up into. Remote and peaceful.  A beautiful piece of solitude before enjoying the downhill into Kirkby Stephen, time for the garage shop and the little bit of pain uphill to the station!

Another spectacular day on two wheels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.