This is the day

By wrencottage

The Tenderness of the Human Heart

Another day of small, but significant progress for Smithers. Slowly we are returning to a more ordered and peaceful existence after the frantic comings and goings of the past couple of weeks. 

I do appreciate all the kind and encouraging comments, stars and hearts from all my blip friends while Smithers has been hors de combat. I am very conscious that I haven’t been able to do any more than upload my own blips during this time, without spending time commenting on other people’s blips. Hopefully I’ll have a bit more time once his eyesight improves and he’s more mobile.

I managed to get out into the garden with my camera once again today, late this afternoon. This lone lavender stalk standing brightly and proudly in the midst of its faded fellows really caught my eye and filled me with a comforting sense of hope.


“Thanks to the human heart by which we live,
Thanks to its tenderness, its joys, and its fears,
To me the meanest flower that blows can give
Thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.” 

William Wordsworth, “Ode: Intimations of Immortality”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.