There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

End of Summer Selfie: Last Swim at Bald Eagle

My husband and I had a busy day doing catch-up around the house, as it seems we have been on the run so much of late. But in late afternoon, as we looked at the abundant sunshine, we got the bright idea to run up to Bald Eagle State Park for just one last swim there. (Not OUR last swim of the season, but our last swim THERE, as their beach closes Monday.) 

We also enjoyed very tasty hoagies at the Snack Bar at the park. Eight-inch Italian hoagies were $5.50 each. We'd planned to run by Jim's in Bellefonte for hoagies on the way home, but just eating at the park seemed much simpler. As it turns out, their making took a while. Everything - meat, cheeses - was cut by hand, and the veggies were fresh, the bright red tomatoes home-grown. 

The hoagies were far more delicious than you'd expect for just a little hole in the wall. It was more food than I needed, so I ended up taking half of mine home to enjoy later. And by the way, for those who may want to know, they're out of August Pie ice cream! The Snack Bar will be open weekends through the end of October, for any other travelers who may be interested.

We'd swum and showered (my final cold outdoor shower of the summer!) and changed and had our snack and were standing in the sun getting ready to take our leave of one of our favorite summer places. Bald Eagle is just different from all of the other places we swim. It's a lake in a big, wide, sunny valley, and it has a lovely feel to it. I take my camera into my hands there, and I feel like Seurat, photographing people like little dots of color on the sandy beach.

I have to admit to a bit of a wistful feeling: we've been trying to cram every single bit of fun into the little bit of summer that's left. So I persuaded my husband - whom you typically only get to see at a distance and from the back - to pose with me for a "last swim at Bald Eagle" selfie - it's his first selfie ever! So here we are, looking quite happy indeed! 

I met my husband in a laundromat in State College on August 13, 1986, and that was pretty much it for both of us. We dated a long time before he proposed to me on his death bed, and then true love saved his life! That's the way *I* tell the story, anyway.  ;-)  We will have been happily married 15 years on October 17, my mother's birthday.

Anyway, having said all of that, my advice, on the cusp of summer-fading-into-autumn is Seize the Day!!! I can't resist two soundtrack songs. The first is the Grass Roots, with Live for Today. The second is Brooks and Dunn, with My Heart Is Lost To You

(From Moonstruck:
Do you love him, Loretta?
Ma, I love him awful.
Oh, God, that's too bad.)

Bonus: a few other blips about our love story.
The Running Man
In Which True Love Wins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.