Today's the day

By sheilwill

Colchicum

Today's the day ....................... for Naked Ladies in a shower

The first thing I always do when I get home after being away, is to go for a tour round the 'estate'.  It's always interesting - and often surprising - to see the changes in the garden in just a week.  And, the first thing I noticed was the emergence of these colchicum or autumn crocus.  

If I'm perfectly honest, there's no way I would ever have gone out and bought these to plant in the garden.  They always look very sinister, eerily pushing their way through the soil at this time of the year (see extra) and very deserving of their common name of Naked Ladies.  We've had a fair bit of rain here today and so they were covered with raindrops.

It's always nice to be home ........................! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.