Sparky

By Sparky

study day

On the way to the train station I saw this face (hard to miss at 42 foot tall) and thought, that'll do nicely for today's blip, but I couldn't risk missing the train, and I knew it'd be there on my way home, so I waited. I dodged a few policemen to take this on the way home.

I planned to catch the bus up to my ex-home to collect Millie (who was being dog-sat by Cari) but I couldn't get to the bus stop as the police were blocking off all the roads, to allow the EDL to drink, unmolested, in a pub.
after skirting around several back streets, I managed to get past the blockage, but not before giving a police man a piece of my mind, and seeing several young men puking and receiving medical treatment on the side of the road!!
the rest of the afternoon was spoilt by the helicopters hovering over the city, and the constant sirens wailing in the distance.
bloody EDL.


The face? - oh, that's Harry Brearley inventor of stainless steel.
Sheffield artist Sarah, also known as her alias Faunagraphic, worked on the mural for a week back in April, being filmed by local digital media producer Richard Bolam. the local rag said:

Richard is compiling time lapse footage of Sarah's creation to be made into a short film to promote the centenary across the UK and the rest of the world.

Sarah said: "I didn't know an awful lot about Harry Brearley when I started this project, but I suppose that's the point of this mural, to make people in the city aware of him and what he achieved."

Brendan said: "Harry Brearley is a legend around here, but his legacy stretches much further.

"The results of his discovery can be seen in every corner of everyday life from the tiniest medical components to some of the biggest architectural structures in the world.

"New York's Chrysler building, the Walt Disney conference centre in Los Angeles and the famous Petronas Towers in Malaysia are just a few names on stainless steel's impressive global client list."

Sheffield's Master Cutler Neil MacDonald unveiled proposals back in January for the year-long celebration in Pitsmoor-born Brearley's honour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.