Stella2

By Stella2

A stormy day

I woke to hear thunder and heavy rain this morning although my husband had also seen lightening in the early hours.  We had a very heavy downpour of rain this morning so much so that rain was coming into the garage from the overflow from the house roof gutters which couldn't cope with the amount of rain.  There was a brief period when it stopped and I quickly picked some of the courgettes from the allotment and a few tomatoes and raspberries.  But it started again as I was heading back home.

The house was busy with our daughter and son in law attempting the mammoth task of getting all their belongings packed for the journey home this afternoon.  We had a quick lunch and I dropped our son off at Exmouth train station.  I was almost home when I had a call to say that the train wasn't running due to flooding in Topsham area.  I turned back and picked him up to take him to Exeter station.  This took a very long time as the traffic was almost at a standstill in one area and we eventually reached the point to find that it was flooded.  Some cars were unable to go through but fortunately our car is relatively high and we managed it.  It was then a fairly easy drive to the motorway junction and into Exeter station.  I returned home another way and only encountered a small flooded area.  

We haven't had such a heavy rainfall for several years.  Its been a busy few days and I'm feeling tired now so will hope to catch up with journals soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.