The Way I See Things

By JDO

Charlecote Hawker

R and I went for an early walk around Charlecote this morning. I'd been hoping that I might catch some dragons on the "basking fence", but by the time we arrived it was warm and sunny, and the numerous Migrant Hawkers zooming around the River Dene had no need of sunny spots in which to bask to raise their temperature. In fact they were moving so fast that I struggled to catch them on camera, especially as the light was against me, and even after tramping over the bridge and round to the far side of the river to put the sun behind me I couldn't get a focused shot.

Not wanting to push R's tolerance too far, I called it quits and suggested that we walk on around West Park. I'd try the dragons again after our half-time coffee, I said. But by the time we were back and drinking coffee the weather was closing in, and by the time I got back to the river it was beginning to spit with rain. Most of the Hawkers had sensibly gone off to sit out the dark and damp spell somewhere else, but the Main Man was still patrolling, and within a minute I had my shot. I've taken better - but not in these conditions.

Returning to the café in (very) mild triumph, I realised that it had stopped spitting, and suggested to R that we should quickly try to complete our walk. We didn't manage this, but just before the rain came in again and had us scuttling off to the car, I spotted the Little Egret in tonight's second photo swooping over the lake and landing by a reed bed. It was quite nervous, and I was pleased that I managed to get within shooting distance without putting it to flight.

It's now time for me to remind you that tomorrow brings round another Tiny Tuesday. I'd love it if you would post a close-up photo of a small something, and tag it TT434. I'll choose my favourites and hand out some hearts on Thursday or Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.