RexComu1

By RexComu1

Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On

My birthday today so I was treated by Mrs Rex to dinner aboard Fingal, berthed in Leith, which was very nice (that's the dinner not Leith). I passed on the cocktails but not on the glass of Malbec to accompany my sirloin steak. Mrs Rex drove home. Researching the history of the ship I discovered that I'm older than it is. I must be due a refit surely..?

Fingal was commissioned by the Northern Lighthouse Board (NLB) in 1963 and was the last ship to be built by the Blythswood Shipbuilding Company in Glasgow. Registered in Leith, she was stationed for 30 years in Oban and then for 6 years in Stromness, ferrying lighthouse keepers, essential supplies and maintenance staff to lighthouses, as well as undertaking repairs to navigational aids throughout the West Coast and the North of Scotland. Fingal retired from NLB service in 2000. The name Fingal is believed to pay homage to the King of the Morven (Argyll) in ancient Caledonia during the 3rd century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.