GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

A perfect Sunday

This was such a perfect Bank Holiday Sunday.

I met my brother and some friends for brunch in Gulpd, which is a great café/bar in the beautiful Triskel Christchurch arts venue. On Sundays, a DJ plays chilled out house while a great chef cooks eggs.

I was tempted by the huevos rancheros, but knew I wanted bacon . . . so I decided to have both! And a Bloody Mary for good measure.

It was such a beautiful, sunny Sunday and we were all in a great mood so we found some extra friends and headed for the beer garden out the back of the Vicarstown to sit in the sun supping pints.

Then, we rallied some additional troops and moved on to the Castle Inn, a great old man's pub, to listen to some acoustic music. Or rather, to stand outside the back door, eating sandwiches and fruit cake from the bar-lady and howling along to some acoustic music.

Since it was Stout Fest weekend, there was a stout challenge. For the price of a pint, you could have a third each of the three main stouts - Guinness, Murphy's and Beamish. If you guess which is which, you get a certificate.

I'm a big fan of stout, so I really thought I would get. I reeeally thought I would get it. Sadly, I guessed the Guinness (since I always find it a bit watery) but I mixed up my Murphy's and Beamish.

THE SHAME!

It was somewhat of a consolation when the barman told me that, of all the people who tried over the weekend, including some of his regular customers, only one person had guessed right.

I was going to choose another photograph because I hadn't gotten it right, but my Mum said, "It's good to show that you can embrace failure". Words of wisdom from her, as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.