GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Dr Graham Norton

I used to work in the Office of Media & Communications in University College Cork. One of my main duties was assisting with the organisation of conferring ceremonies for graduating students, as well as honorary conferrings for people who are being recognised by the university for their achievements.

This year, the recipients of honorary degrees were: Irish writer, broadcaster and BBC correspondent Fergal Keane; United States Judge Donald W. Molloy; Irish broadcaster, BBC presenter and comedian Graham Norton; and member of UCC's governing body Dermot O'Mahoney.

It was lovely to attend and see one of these events from the other side, even enjoying a glass of wine and chatting with some of the guests and my former colleagues.

Graham Norton, a Corkman by birth, made a lovely speech in which he spoke about the importance of finding a tribe with which you can identify, but also recognising that you can belong to many tribes.

He said, "This morning, I got on a plane in London and came home, but this evening, I will get on another plane, and I will also go home."

He also cautioned that those who feel they can only identify with one tribe can become the terrorists, the homophobes, and the racists of the world.

After the ceremony ended, there was a lovely wine reception on the Quad, to the sounds of a jazz trio (some of my very talented friends). We certainly had the weather for it!

The newly-conferred Dr Norton was a bit thronged so I didn't have a chance to speak with him, but I did take this sneaky snap of him with my fabulous former colleague, Dara.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.