Out and About

By Puffin

A Canal Boat Trip

Book Club today and  I have the job of taking the books back to the library.  Fantastic service from Cumbria Library service  although I'm not sure what they call themselves now we have Cumberland and Westmorland (and Furness) Councils. I'm in Westmorland, but the books get sent to my local library, Kendal by  Carlisle, which is in Cumberland.  The library website has just got terribly and unnecessarily  confusing.  
Anyway , this was a charming story of three women running away from stuff and  a canal boat trip.  Some interesting canal history and characters along the way.   A light read with thoughtful and insightful writing.  
If you have read this far, you might remember me , last month, mentioning the Paul Torday prize for authors whose first novel was published when they were over 60.  Anne Youngson won it for her first novel Meet me at the Museum which, now I've just enjoyed  Three Women and a Boat, I will look out for 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.