Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Dipper in the Gryonne River.

I only saw this one and a couple of Grey Wagtails today but it is not the birds that will stay in my memory it is the people I saw on the other bank. There must have been 20 very old men and women on an outing to the river and most of them were walking very slowly upstream, often in pairs, encouraging each other. Many of them stopped to take photos with their phones: of the river, of each other, clearly enjoying the walk. Carers had set up a picnic area with seats where really handicapped people were already sitting with such happy smiles as I approached them. It’s good to know that there is joy to be had when I can no longer walk in the mountains. I felt so emotional knowing that perhaps many of these people had had mountain experiences when they were younger too.

Extra an amazing moth I nearly cut in two when chopping down a bush! One of my yoga students identified it for me, a Sphinx Moth, huge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.