MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 21

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is a pellucid fly. I noticed yesterday that it is one of the first visitors to appear after rain. It was looking very smart in the storm light. 

No wind today so, when it wasn't raining, it was easier to capture wasps.  They're usually on the move all the time but were feeling a bit sluggish after the showers. The one top left is a common wasp as it has an 'anchor' mark on its face. Mishka alerted me to a wasp and a bee tussling on the ground. The wasp eventually bit through the bee's waist. The bee, minus its abdomen, struggled away. As the wasp was eating the abdomen I could see the bee's sting protruding.

The ivy bees are also usually very mobile but the one bottom left was having a wash after the rain. The drenched small bumblebee is giving me the classic lifted leg signal that I'm getting too close. The bluebottle fly has a red mite on its abdomen. I haven't identified the other fly. A plain-faced drone fly and a red admiral with haws are also included.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.