The second half of life..

By twigs

The sky is murmuring . . . .

After a typically full-on and busy day at work I quickly headed to town afterwards to pay for the van repairs. The fixit people had very kindly come out to home to pick the van up this morning and when they called me in the middle of the day my heart was in my mouth a bit wondering what the (financial!) damage would be . . . .

Although they couldn't really identify the problem they had done a couple of small things that they hoped would help get it through its warrant. The damage? "Oooh - I don't have the figure infront of me right now but not much"

Phew!

Imagine my surprise then when I arrived to pay for it and was presented with a bill for over $170! I must have looked shocked - I questioned whether it was correct given that I'd been told it "wasn't much".

"Oh - OK - we can trim half an hour off the time then. How's that? $120"

Now, great though the service was, I find myself being more than a little suspicious over a bill that can simply have a third of the labour component dropped with hardly a murmur from those who billed me. Did they see me coming? An easy target maybe? An honest mistake? Poor business skills? I don't know - I just paid it and left. I'm not sure whether I'd go back there or not.

On the way home a small murmuration of starlings was beginning to gather and perform its sunset ritual over the Bay - I simply had to stop and enjoy it :) Unfortunatley I didn't have my 200mm lens with me but hey ho - it still looked good :)

(Check out the reflections of the birds in the foreground too)

Not quite as spectacular as this one but pretty cool nevertheless :)

Camera club tonight which I left early - I can't belive how tired I am! Best get to bed now - I'll sleep well tonight I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.