Sprout lover

By robharris35

Non-exertion

Definitely a day light on exertion and big on chilling. Coming to Maputo for work is different from most work trips in that it’s a more relaxing place to be. Most of my work trips over the years have been intense with needing to complete too many things in too little time, and it being irrelevant whether a trip falls over the weekend.

My superiors in Tanzania pluck random percentages out of the sky, depending on the day, whenever they decide to declare how much of my time they think I should be spending in Mozambique as opposed to Tanzania (because of the transboundary nature of the programme I work on). The latest was 65%. It’s often in the 50-60% range. A valid question is why I was required to relocate in the first place if this is the general view.

As I’m spending much less than 65% of my time in Mozambique, I feel it gives me licence to carve out chunks of weeks where I can work from the Mozambique office and have more Sundays lounging in this spot next to a quiet pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.