CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A display of Red Admiral butterflies

The bright blue sky this morning made me get lout of the house early. The weather forecast suggested it might not last with rain arriving by late lunchtime. I decided to walk by the canal again as there are always interesting surprises to be encountered.

I was delighted to find an old tree on the bank behind the towpath that had become wholly covered in ivy. Seeing some butterflies nearby made me look up and I realised there were scores of red admirals flitting around the flowers all over the tree. I think there must have been several dozen.

The flowers must have just opened after the recent heavy rains and now the warm air and direct sunshine allowed the butterflies to have a late feast, before the days draw in. Not only were there butterflies but also numerous types of bees and hoverflies producing a magnificent display of nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.