Orchid99

By orchid99

A new world

Remember when we could just set off and travel, visit the world around us, using public transport….

Since Covid, and in this world of strikes and hassle, it is so different. And many of us have lost confidence.

Two years ago I was attracted to a holiday with no single supplement. On an impulse, I paid the deposit. When I had to pay the balance, I was more than a little apprehensive. 

Well, I’m now in an airport hotel at Gatwick, ready to set off tomorrow morning. They’ve refurbished it. All the prices have rocketed. It’s harder to leave a car in an airport hotel car park. Even the packages are now three times what they were before.


You used to be able to drive down the M42, M40 and the M25…….(have you seen the roadworks and queues now ?)

But - stuff the nostalgia. It’s time to grit your teeth, woman, and get on with it. 

Here we go. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.