Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Fly Catcher Extraordinaire

Not just flies but all sorts of tiny insects bit the dust as this grey wagtail bounced up and down a fallen tree trunk in a lake in the forest, picking off food before the rain came in. There were a pair and it was lovely to watch as they chatted and flew together. 

I started the morning in the gym as usual on a Friday but when it came to holding my lens I could feel my arm muscles shaking. Too much effort on the dumb-bells etc earlier. 

I drove to the Forest of Dean hoping for the kingfisher but fannying around in the carpark getting my mac and fishing stool etc  I missed the kingfisher as it flew just as I got to its perch. It didn't return and after a couple of hours I was rained off anyway.

I was diverted by the wagtails happily - so you have a reflective wagtail in Extra and a perching one. They never stopped moving though, the sun never shone on my side of the lake and it was cold and dark so high iso to get the speed up. Nothing I could do about my cold feet but note to self,  'start thinking about winter/thermal togs!' 

There has been an horrific crash at our motorway junction this evening involving a motorcycle. I was lucky in that by chance I came a different route but we are now gridlocked. I was taking a friend to the local railway station which was fine in that all I had to do was cut across the streams of traffic and back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.