AT LAST I WALKED ALONG THE BEACH

together with Piet Hein, but in the morning I first walked through the park, along the ponds and in a little canal I saw the swan family with 7 cygnets. This family I had heard of but not seen yet. Hetty and another young woman stood there, they were picking grass and bringing it to the cygnets.
What was the reason for that action? Hetty said that the cygnets liked the long grass but that it was a bit dangerous she thought if they went there by themselves considering the cats and the heron that lay in wait for them.
Plenty pictures I took but this blip one I preferred.
Since how long had I not been to the beach? The weather had not been inviting for such a long time, rain, wind, coldness, more wind, more rain, etc.
The Zandmotor had changed again the coastline, and it was ment to do so. Vast sand plains with hardly anything growing upon it, stretch before the eyes.
There were gulls, cormorants and oystercatchers, in crowds, standing upon the sand far from where humans walk. On a monday not many persons anyway walk the beach.

My haiku:

I make myself little
Sitting on the bank as if
A big harmless bird

And the proverb:

Het maantje zal het wel ophalen.

Translation:

The (little) moon will fetch it. Meaning: It will not rain.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.