Skyroad

By Skyroad

The Boys

I love driving, by day or night, rain or sun. I love the serendipity of it, waiting to see what the landscape throws at you.

I also have a great affection for cattle, their amazingly broad foreheads and wide-open, waiting-to-be-startled eyes. On the N6 to Galway yesterday to give a reading, I stopped when I caught a glimpse of these pale brown bullocks (I assume that's what they are) grazing on a hillside. I had to clamber through long wet grass, trying in vain to keep my shoes dry. I think it was worth it. They were in a far corner of the field, but I called them over. No bullshit, I speak fluent Bullockese (also Mandarin Cow).

Though I was in a hurry to get to Galway, I had to pull up again when I saw these unfinished dolmens, something landscape photographer Fay Godwin wouldn't have been able to resist.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.