litl hikes

By litl

Off on my annual caravan holiday . . . . . NOT.


Annoyed with myself for not getting out in the morning mist but when I eventually got moving I raked and swept a lot of fallen leaves from outside.

By midday I’d decided to walk up Kirkstone as far as the caravans and then return the same way. There’s no other return route to make it into a circuit.

About an hour later I’d gone through Roundhill Farm, crossed the bridge over Stock Beck and was beyond the fell gate when I had an idea. My phone still had 4G so I found the timetable for the bus that goes from Penrith, over Kirkstone Pass, to Windermere a few times a day during the summer months.

Next one was 2.35 so I had plenty of time. So, two firsts for me . . . . . I’ve never walked all the way to the top of Kirkstone Pass and haven’t been on the bus that goes over. That was an experience !

The OS app gives the distance up as 3.65 miles but my phone says 4. The app also gives the time as 2 hrs 6 minutes. That’s exactly what it took me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.