cindy_ellis

By cindy_ellis

Ophelia is creeping in...

on us. We have 2 hours until high tide and the water is already on the door step. Yikes! I have stayed pretty calm in this storm. Best ever I guess. Can't explain it but maybe it is because I planned a busy day. Up by 6:30 and started working on the veggies for our venison sausage soup and put it in the crock pot. Next I did my back blips from our last trip to the farm- Aug. 25-Sept.9th if you care to take a look. Then I picked 2 pounds of crab meat. We made five 1/2 cup crab cakes and 20 crab ricotta spinach manicotti's for the freezer. Next I made a wonderful apple cake with WV farm apples. It turned out perfect. Then it was time to make dinner. We had crab cakes, baked potato and fresh corn on the cob. We cleaned the mess up from each project as we went along but I think we used every pot, pan and bowl we own. The day was spent entirely in the kitchen except for a few dog walks in between showers and down pours. The gulls were all gathered on the piers and beach hiding from the wind. Lucky for the people on the beach the hollow has  flat calm all day saving the piers from damage. I will be happy when the storm passes as I guess the worse is yet to come. It is always hard when they come in the night. Be safe my friends. Thanks for the visits. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.