michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Party...A Surprise Party?

Our kids threw us a 50th anniversary party today. It was good to see family and old friends, and we had lunch to boot.

Why the questioning title? They decided to tell me a couple of weeks ago, and just surprise Lisa. It was hard to watch my mouth for the 2 weeks, but I did it. She was surprised.

As usual, fellow blipper and dear friend Shelley (Naturelover) beat me to the blip post and also posted our picture.

What do I have to say about my 50 years together sweetheart? I'm going to steal 2 lines from 2 movies I watched this morning while painting. 

1. On Golden Pond. It's amazing that Lisa has put up with an "old poop" like me.
2. The Pride of the Yankees. Lou Gehrig said at the end of the movie..."Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the Earth." 

That's how I feel, just like Mr. Gehrig. As a wife, a mother, and a friend...Lisa is the best, and I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the Earth. Amen.

P.S. Thanks to our dear friends Mike and Cindy who helped our kids pull off the party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.