watching dry paint

By lensbrush

Save the sky!

A tale of painterly desperation.
Way back before Christmas I started a new watercolour painting. It was a grand panorama of a dilapidated sprawl of sheds, with a huge blue sky above. I carefully laid out the drawing and went to place a big blue gestural wash in the upper half. Only, I fucked it up. It looked appalling. So there it stayed for 5 months. I occasionally went to look at it to see how I might save it, only to reaffirm that it was probably best if I walked away.
Last night we decided to fire up the chiminea to burn some old paperwork and I decided that I would ceremoniously burn it.
Sitting there looking at it before I pulled it off the board for burning, I was struck by a notion that I was looking at it repeatedly from only one angle. Readjusting from a different perspective I could see a way out of my stalemate.
Look, the picture still might be unworthy at a later date, but for now I’m back on track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.