Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Tapas

I do not usually do food blips, but it has been something of a gastronomic weekend, no fine dining, simply good local food, fresh ingredients, well prepared. Last night we went to a local fish restaurant away from the beach where the locals seemed to congregate. It was excellent, so much, so that I immediately booked to go there again tonight. I had a Zarzuela Catalan fish stew with turbot, monkfish, hake, squid, prawns and clams followed by a creme Catalan. Fish were the order of the day first thing after breakfast as I swim with them around the rocks underneath the hotel. Again we walked to the next bay for lunch at the same tapas bar.
We knew to queue 20 minutes before it opened as there was a long line waiting when we were admitted. More tapas were brought round as we ate and I was tempted to select one more. One thing that has impressed me about this short visit is how clean and prosperous the towns seem. In fact, as I travel in France in Spain, I am increasingly aware of the difference between the UK and Europe in terms of facilities and infrastructure, the gap is certainly widening post Brexit which is rather sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.