joff

By joff

OT

Now this is more like it!

This is a very young otter otherwise known as a pup, kit or kitten. I had heard the mother calling insistently behind a wall in the woods and then saw a couple of people staring into a drainage ditch.

They had been watching this young otter - the problem was that it was very tiny and being separated from its mother for any length of time could have been serious. I was just persuading them to move away when it poked its head out from the vegetation and I grabbed this shot. Then a couple were heading in the kits direction with a dog and they were happy to reroute luckily.

I went back about 30 minutes later and there was no calling from mum or kit and no sign of either so I'm happy they must have reunited safely :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.