*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Dinna Fash Sassenach - Day 13

Tha mi toilichte, tapadh leat Alba

Oof, it's been a long day. Left Fort William at about 10am and got back to the van in Cumbria about 8 hours later. That said, we did make a few stops and one of them was a longer stop at the Glencoe Visitor Centre where we had a nice coffee and wander up to the replica 17th century turf house which was very special. I created a little video of it here.

The glen is so beautiful and peaceful, it's hard to imagine the atrocities that happened here on 13 February 1692. I wanted to visit as the Massacre of Glencoe is interwoven with the fictional book I'm currently reading. I don't remember learning anything about it at school, in fact I think we had one lesson on Scottish history... and it pretty much started and ended with Bonnie Prince Charlie.

We stopped in Stirling for something to eat and then had a terrible journey back to Cumbria - the weather was awful and made driving conditions difficult. Poor Norm, it was a very tiring journey for him. Don't think we've ever been so happy to pass the border into England before, our lower lips are usually wobbling hehe.

Added an extra of something that came up in my Gaelic Duolingo practice today. It made me smile... I agree wholeheartedly, I've been doing air guitar to the song Skye by Runrig all week :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.