JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Equinox evening

P took the apples to the press, which was in action at Apple Day at a local event. J and I stayed at home, as the car was too full of apples to accommodate J's wheelchair as well - but in any case, it's the kind of busy, crowded event we are still avoiding, sadly. He returned later to collect the juice, which came home in his large brewing tubs. He started the cider before he went to bed, leaving me to sort out and sterilise bottles for J's juice.

I went for an early evening walk in the valley. The light was  beautiful, golden and saturated, but not easy to capture, with deep shade along the path under the trees and bright sun on the hilltops. I love the colours of the dry grass, plants and seedheads along the wide margin of this field, which is now stripey with stubble and emerging grass. I must try to get out for walks a little earlier now, as the days shorten. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.