Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Spice

My first visit to Ossett required some visual evidence. The Town Hall was covered in scaffolding so this was my next best choice - the information packed shop front of Ossett Spice and Ossett Cars.

Bradford City Women had moved this week’s home league game to Ingfield, the ground of Ossett United, so a train into town and then a long bus ride out the other side via Cleckheaton, Heckmondwike and Dewsbury was needed, effectively an almost complete transect of the West Yorkshire built up area. The somewhat nomadic life of women’s football teams shows in the fact that this was the fifth different “home” ground that I’ve seen City Women play at.  At least I got to see some bits of the region that are less familiar to me. 

City were relegated at the end of last season and are now in the North East Regional League - Tier 5 of the women’s football system - which I think is the lowest they’ve ever been. Today’s visitors were Wallsend - about two thirds of the teams in this league are from Tyneside, Wearside and Teesside so there will be lots of travel for the team. City were somewhat fortunate to establish a 4-0 lead but Wallsend pulled a couple back towards the end for a 4-2 final score. 

As my first visit to Ingfield this will count on my ongoing collection (45/69) of Yorkshire football grounds, although I expect I’ll be back to watch Ossett United at some point. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.