BRIANW

By BRIANW

Little Soldiers, Whitstable

I can't quite believe that I have reached 2,000 blips. First of all, I'd like to say a huge thank you to to all of you for every heart, star and comment. They really mean so much to me and I feel so very grateful to you all for reading and viewing my words and images over the years.
I decided if I was going to try and capture my 2,000th blip I had to head to the seaside as that is my favourite place to take photographs. So along with my brother, we chose to head back to Whitstable. I was expecting to take an image of the wide bay and the sea but instead, and this is what I love about photography, I came across today's shot while waiting for my brother to get a bag of chips for us to share! We, as usual, had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
Photography is a huge part of my life both professionally and as my passion. At it's best I think it is just as lyrical, heartbreaking, funny, melancholic, beautiful, surprising and wonderful as any other artistic medium. It can be like a visual form of music - symphonic, restless, harmonious, riotous, soothing, troubling and joyous and all of this can be captured in a fraction of a second. If that is not a supreme art form than I don't know what is. Two of my favourite photographers, Harry Gruyaert and Alex Webb, have an amazing ability to produce images that can encapsulate all of these different aspects. I have also seen these qualities in many of my fellow blippers photographs and that's why I love it so much.
 
I leave you with one of my all time favourite tunes by the brilliant group alt J ( it almost feels like one of Harry's or Alex's images in a musical form!):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idsYYlejWhY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.