Photoholic

By jimbo2750

Been a wild Rover.

Spotted this old Rover 2000 the other day.
Love the look of this car but it brings back memories of a nightmare trip.
Now I know the our American and other blippers are used to driving long distance on their highways but in the 70’s our highway system was not really A1 if you get my drift.
My father in law had one of these Rover’s and we decided to drive to Jersey in the Channel Islands. 
Mum in law, him, L & my good self plus luggage for a fortnight so pretty packed.
Now it’s 460 odd miles today but was further back then and guess who got chosen driver ? I 
Yes you’ve guessed it- ME !!
No power steering and hundreds of gear changes later we made and all I could think of was the journey back home.
Still we made it in one piece but the crossing was dodgy from Weymouth to St Helier.
Mind you it did build up my arm muscles.
Happy Days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.