Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

SA Day Eleven

Torrential rain all night, but dry and sunny in the morning. We’ve been VERY lucky with our weather - it’s been awful for days in Cape Town and Hermanus - flooding there. It’s very unusual weather, the chap in the art gallery told us. He’s never seen weather like this before…

Once again, I made the wrong decision at breakfast… I chose Eggs Benedict. I’m not keen on Eggs Benedict, because I HATE Hollandaise sauce. But I like English muffins, and I like poached eggs. As soon as I heard myself ordering it, I knew it was wrong. JR, too, was rather puzzled…

We decided to just potter about town instead of hiring a cab and going to one of the many attractions in the area - birds, monkeys, swimming with seals, whale watching, feeding elephants, zip cords and bungy jumping to name but a few. We borrowed the hotel’s umbrellas and set off. Actually, JR set off, striding up the hill at speed. I took a taxi.

We had a good nosey around the rather nice wee town, with the occasional treat to keep me going - a pie in The Pie Shop (a recommendation from a friend), an ice cream, a coffee, a beer. JR was sorely tempted many times, and succumbed once or twice. They have very nice summer wear.

We went back to the same wee cafe from yesterday and had a big pile of tiger prawns for lunch.

Having finished our town tour (though the photo opportunities were limited), we walked back down the hill, and had to use our umbrellas, but the rain stopped and so we continued down to the beach cafe. We met an English couple we’d met a couple of hotels ago. And we also met a couple of Aussie ladies who are driving themselves, and had a good chat with them. We were able to sit outside for a while, until it poured.

Tomorrow we head to the highlight of our SA adventure - a safari lodge!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.