JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Village walk, late September

J and I had a busy morning, with her two back-to-back online activities and a session on her exercise bike. In between, I grabbed twenty minutes to take my coffee to the balcony: I hadn't sat up there for a while, it's been either too hot or too wet for much of September, but this was a glorious morning, perfectly clear and sunny, with relatively low humidity and glowing warmth in the midday sun. I made a start at a bit of writing I've been wanting to make time for - Blip is far from the only thing I struggle to keep up with - and basked in the peace, the view and the pleasure of good coffee.

After a rather late lunch, I persuaded J to come with me for a walk. We did a simple circuit the length of the village, observing all the autumnal changes - leaves fading and crisping, vivid berries, late summer flowers and golden fields, as well as the ever-changing fluffy clouds J delights in. She pointed out things she wanted me to photograph, and I've collaged them for her to share. At the furthest point of our stroll, we sat under a silver birch tree in the peaceful garden behind the village hall, with its views of the valley, and shared our chocolate bar, then looked through the fence at the village hall beehives among the dry grasses and seedheads of the wildflower meadow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.