Beinghere

By Beinghere

Collared Earthstar

First one I’ve spotted this year.

As soon as we walked into the wood this morning I noticed the cold dampness.
Then it was the stillness!
Not a breath of wind to move the trees, ferns or grasses. The only sound was my foot steps. We walked a bit and stopped and listened - nothing. Almost eerie.
At one point when we stopped I could hear a rustle high above us, and it turned out to be a red squirrel. So we watched it cross the tree canopy for a minute or two.
The silence was broken occasionally by a crow, or chiff chaff, or pigeon, but that was all.
It was overcast, grey, no rain, wind or sun. That is changing already, late afternoon, with rain and a fairly strong wind.
Spent the afternoon at Mitch’s having a good blether and putting the world to rights. There are a few politicians whose ears must be burning.
Home now and cosy with my boy, who did great zoomies around the house when I got back. It’s great to get a welcome and feel loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.