still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Time for some trucker poetry...

“What’s that thing that makes you tick?
What has made you, you?
What inspires you to do,
That thing you like to do?”

If your speaking of my crazy ways,
It’s semi-trucks to blame.
I’ve always loved those big ol’ trucks,
And I’m crazy just the same

“But what has caused that distant look,
You carry in your eyes?
The one that makes it seem as though,
You’re staring at the skies.”

It’s thoughts of chicken lights and chrome,
Blazing trails into the night.
That captivate and take me there,
Whenever they’re in sight.

“So, if you love these trucks so much,
You must have seen it all.
Does anything surprise you, still
While out there on your haul?”

I’m not surprised by very much,
But I’m certainly amazed.
By the lack of pride and passion,
That I’m noticing these days.

“Are you welcomed, or rejected,
In the places you have been?
Is there any kind of praise,
For the line of work your in?”

When I’m rolling into town, somewhere
I’m mostly passing through.
And my friends and family offer praise,
For the kind of work I do.

“One more thing before you go…
Just how would you describe.
The motivation that you have,
To climb up there and drive?”

It’s the big ‘ol semi-trucks that crazed me,
The chicken lights and chrome that glazed me.
A bit more pride would amaze me,
And my friends and family that praise me.

It’s haulin’ goods that sort-of pays me,
And darn-near everything delays me.
But anytime something dismays me,
I head out on the road that raised me!

Author – Trevor Hardwick

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.