secret garden

By freespiral

Happy Michaelmas

I've had a massive day out and zoomed up to North Kerry - even beyond Tralee - and back, a good five hours driving. The roads though are mainly good and scenic but coffee shops and loos are in short supply. It's Michaelmas and I went to Lixnaw to St Michael's Well where there was a noon mass. This well is incredible - as my brother remarked (he's feeling a bit better) - it's the Hilton of holy wells.  I'm not sure about that but it had been whitewashed, topped up with blue paint and decked overall. It is in an enclosure but the cattle and silage are next door and a robin was twittering away. I've blipped it before- it stopped in my tracks by the androgynous St Michael and the rather offensive Satan. Not that many people were in attendance but there is another Mass tonight which I suspect will attract more pilgrims - and the fairy lights will looks lovely. I managed to extract the well keeper's phone number though. One couple had 20 bottles ready for filling. The water was good.

Coming home I passed through Ballyvourney and my thoughts turned to the awful dismemberment of the sycamore tree on Hadrian's Wall. Something deeply depressing about this - such a stupid and pointless act, destroying something loved and beautiful. Well, this tree also caused a massive amount of controversy and upset after it was cut down supposedly for 'elf and safety reasons. It was planted in 1900 and stood outside the primary school and was a thing of beauty. However, the arborists left a large stump and a chainsaw artist got to work, consulting the children on what should be depicted. Look carefully and you might spot St Gobnait and her bees and deer, Ogham stones and children with their pencils and paintbrushes. Hopefully something good may yet be retrieved from for the other iconic tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.