If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Dunnock ( Prunella modularis )

A Dunnock, a bird I have known by a number of names Blue Dykie (in my native dialect) Hedge Sparrow, Hedge Accentor and finally Dunnock.

I chose to blip this bird as it is one I rarely get a shot of.  The natural habit of a Dunnock is feeding on the ground generally among vegetation.  This one chose to fly up onto the feeding tray and stayed just long enough for me to get a couple of shots.

Dunnock populations have decreased by 38% over the last half century.  Given the news this week that one in six species of Flora and Fauna are in danger of extinction this population crash is worrying.

Just to put this news into perspective write a list of the first six UK plants or animals you think of.  Then imagine the UK without one of them.

Scary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.