Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Into Alstonfield

I took myself off to Dovedale this morning for a walk from Ilam to Alstonfield and return over the fields.  It was a lovely day after the mixed weather this week.  Despite that I was rarely bathed in sunshine as I walked along the river Dove as the lower autumn sun and high sides of Dovedale combined to keep me in shadow.

It was a lovely 11 mile walk, with some height gained as I climbed out of the dale.  I remembered the last time I walked across this section of footpath; on that occasion it was in snow and my walking partner had brought a small sled and ended up bombing down the hill.

I really liked this scene as I approached Alstonfield with the Virginia creeper's colours shining out in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.