Infidelity

Weather on the change, I took the dog out for a brief evening stroll. We crossed over the fields below the next farm up, a route I don't use often. I was surprised to see an apricot and white cat like our Fred sitting on a stile beside a cottage, contentedly washing in a post-prandial fashion.
Very like Fred.
It was Fred!

Fred, I said, What are you doing here?
Instead of replying as usual, in his Siamese yowl, he carried on swiping his paw over his ears as if to say Isn't it obvious?
His spotless shirt front gleamed in the dusk and behind the ridiculous Cypress trees stood a well-stocked bird table. He turned and stepped adroitly through the fence into the garden.

Cats, they only break your heart. Cue I will survive!

Recently Fred has been absent for much of the day, returning with a bulging belly and a disdainful rejection of the food placed before him. I have been admiring his hunting prowess and his remarkable weight. Now I suspect he is in reality another 'Six Dinner Sid',  a cat who 'belongs' to several families. It was one of our favourite children's stories. If you have the patience you can see a charming recitation of it  here by some Northern Irish primary school children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.