Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Happy Birthday to me ...

Today I became even older ... but thanks to family, friends and cake, though not to the weather, I've had a lovely day. One omission was the champagne I've been looking forward to: the pills I'm on this week carry strict injunctions about alcohol, so I shall renew my celebrations next weekend.

I began the day with pinging text messages and phone calls from my chaps before scampering (well, sort of) up to the study to join in a Lay Training Zoom meeting for its opening session. As I did so, I couldn't help remembering that birthday 50 years ago when I travelled from Glasgow, where we lived then, to the Cathedral of The Isles for my own confirmation. I didn't belong to any congregation at the time; I'd originally gone to the cathedral as a singer. So it was as a singer in the choir stalls that I was confirmed, with only a few friends present, by Bishop Richard, who had stayed on on the island after presiding at the morning service specially for me. There were 28 candles in the choir and sanctuary - quite by chance - and we sang the Byrd Mass for three Voices. I shall never forget it. The next morning I was back in Glasgow teaching ...

We went out to lunch in the Blairmore with Di and Rob after I'd left the meeting, after which we walked back to their house in the just-coming-on-drizzle to eat delicious birthday cake that was part of a Harrod's box of goodies from my #1 son's family. (I brought a candle too). We sat in their recently created upstairs sitting room from which we could see right up the river to the Erskine Bridge, ate cake and blethered, while the two spaniels wove demented patterns round our seats.

When we got home we found that Himself's parcel for me had after all arrived on time, so I'm now equipped with a very soft, warm fuzzy jacket for the winter...and I realise I'm being like a small child listing all my presents!

The collage gives a flavour of the day; the top right photo is of my #2 son's card, bought in Hanoi - one of the most intricate pop-ups I've ever seen. I reckon they all go together to redeem one of the dreariest grey days of the autumn so far. 

And in a joyous note for my grandsons - and their father - Crystal Palace beat Manchester United and they were there, in Manchester, to watch them! (There and back in a day ... all mad, all mad)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.