CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Family of swans and cygnets at Stonehouse Court

This family of swans dominate the area near Stonehouse court on the Stroudwater canal. The two parents still allow their juveniles to hang about with them, but I sense they will be shooed away quite soon. 

They have reared seven cygnets which are nearly full size. I sat on a bench close to the water where there were many feathers lying on the ground. Suddenly one of the adult swans appeared a few feet from me in a swan made gap in the reeds. Then the whole brood followed and a bit of hissing started. Their close presence did unnerve me, so I moved away and from a distance a few minutes later I took this picture. One of the adults and one of the juveniles was still on the canal water so this picture doesn't show a full house. I do like seeing them swimming as a family and obviously in charge of the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.