Blips by cb

By cbimages

RPS Advisory Panel

I'm not a member of the Royal Photographic Society, and unlikely to be, but a member of our camera club had a ticket to an advisory panel today and could not make it; so I went instead.  

The Advisory Panel is intended to provide guidance to candidates to be Associates or Licentiates of the RPS; the candidates present their panel of images to be assessed before they submit themselves to the assessment proper of the RPS.  One of these pictured was up for an 'L' as they call it, the other for an 'A'.  It might be difficult to tell from these small pictures, but the difference was obvious sitting in front of them in the room.  Some of the latter looked like holiday snaps to me, but I'll not announce here which collection I rated and which I did not.

I managed to last a couple of hours watching, but my interest waned once I had seen the really good collection, inspired by Pep Ventosa, and I headed home to consider my photographic future.  

Finally, whatever their relative prowess as photographers, just putting themselves forward for public analysis must have been a big step for the two 'A' candidates I saw.  Well done to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.