Seriously?

By MerrilHope

CoDA Mountain

Well, that was quite an afternoon!  After a busy morning of chores, Sue picked me up (with Rufus) at 12.45 and together with Christine we drove to Altinkum to help at the CODA yardım kermesi - jumble (UK)/ rummage/yard (US) sale.  I then spent the next four hours behind a mountain of clothes in the line of lady volunteers serving an enthusiastic and never ending army of (mostly) ladies in their hunt for a bargain. Well, it was all a bargain really at 20tl (£0.35) per item until the last hour when it was two for the price of one, just to get rid but we still ended filling up 3 or 4 jumbo sized suitcases of unsold items - they'll go to the weekly table top sale at Sahara restaurant in Akbuk on Tuesday.  

By the time we left I was really tired - my feet hurt and so did my lower back from standing, my ears were ringing from the incessant noise - especially the almost constant loudspeaker announcement "her şey yirmi lira" (everything 20 lira) from one of the helpers.  I imagine they'll have quite a sore throat - though I did learn that they were ex-,military, so maybe not ! Rufus spent most of the time quietly waiting, a bit overwhelmed by it all but he was also a good advertisement for the cause as quite a few people asked me about him and I explained how I adopted him last April from the council shelter that today's fund raiser was supporting. 

Finally ready to go home not long after 5pm, Sue, Christine and I stopped to do a grocery shop - I bought beer.  It's been a while since I needed one quite as much as I did tonight!  However, we made 8,500 Turkish lira this afternoon so it was time well spent - raising money for food and veterinary bills for ownerless animals.

*CoDA : registered charity 'Care of Didim and Akbuk Animals in the Shelter and on the street'

Extras: (1) couldn't resist taking this shot on our walk this morning of Rufus and our garden dog Gece. (2) How wonderful that even on 1st October, and even though it was breezy today, the sun was still powerful enough for holiday makers to have a fun day on Altinkum beach. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.