kwchas

By kwchas

Spare

Another few boxes of football programmes have been donated to the club so I went down to sort through them. There were 4 or 5 boxes most of which were Manchester United. 

My own feeling is that the era of collecting programmes is over and, in general, people are no longer interested in the hobby and are trying to get rid of their collections. In addition many programmes that are brought down to the club belong to people who have passed away leaving relatives with the problem of getting rid of them. They pass them to the club with the best of intentions but it is difficult to know what to do with them. I have successfully sold some of my own surplus ones on eBay but when you are dealing with large quantities the time and effort involved is really not worth it especially when the vast majority are just run of the mill. 

I did skip through through the collection and I think I have found a home for the Manchester United and Everton programmes. I took away the Chester ones to look through at leisure. To be fair when I have done this in the past I have nearly always found a gem tucked away and this time there were a couple of certificates relating to the building of the stand in 1979 so it was worth the effort.

I still have a huge number of boxes to sort through which were donated by the family of one of my friends who passed away a few years ago. These are stored at the club and I really don't know where to start with them.

Album of the Day - Bee Gees 1st - Bee Gees (1967) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.