PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Flowery box

I am usually sewing on a Monday, especially if it is a dull day as it has been today. My sewing table is cluttered with all sorts of things, in fact if I want to use big pieces of fabric I have to take everything off and then I wonder why all the things are there. 

Most things I have on the table are useful, but some things are there just because I like them. Some things are both - such as this box. It is made of lightweight balsa type wood and is obviously hand made and hand painted. It is a useful box for bits and pieces and I like it very much. (It is about 16cm wide and 5cm high)

However, I have no idea how I come to have it. It is not something I would ever have bought, even as a souvenir whilst travelling, as one always thinks of space in a suitcase. So, where did it come from? I can only think that it was something my mother had. Maybe my father brought it back after the war, as I know he was in Singapore and other places around there and brought things back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.