Second-time-around

By Skysea7

A holiday

I had to say goodbye to my ‘new’ rescue cat today. She just wasn’t happy. She had settled to a routine and was eating really well, but part of her routine was trying to escape . In the photo she was looking up at a window which was open the tiniest crack. She spent a lot of time looking through the glass panels of my kitchen door - I had to keep it closed to keep her away from the rest of the house and the catflap leading outside

She did play a bit with Pickle’s toys, but she played on her own out of my sight. She didn’t want contact with me; apart from when she wanted food. She never jumped up onto chairs or the sofa, and I honestly don’t think she had ever lived in a house before. She slept under the sofa but came out whenever she heard the kitchen door open, because that way led to escape!

A volunteer from the rescue centre came to collect her this evening. It was a nightmare catching her and getting her into the cat basket - I had tried to do it before the volunteer arrived but for such a small cat she was incredibly strong. The volunteer had trouble too. It wasn’t a nice way to end her visit.

So she’s had a six day holiday here! I hope she finds somewhere to live where she’ll be happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.