Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Oasis - Just off the High Street

Well, back to chilly and rainy weather today so should I stay in and do some housework or just go out and enjoy the countryside? Decided on the latter, knowing that the dust will still be there and housework can be done at any time, or as Quentin Crisp is reputed to have said "There is no need to do any housework at all. After the first four years the dirt doesn't get any worse."

Caught the bus to Marlborough - with free travel it seemed the sensible thing to do - and enjoyed the view from the top deck. Being that much higher, one can see over the hedges - there were still some fields of oil seed rape which were beautifully yellow and the Wiltshire countryside never disappoints me.

Had a lovely wander in Marlborough and took several photographs that I could have used, but this one just appealed to me. The High Street of Marlborough was buzzing as usual and as it has a car park down the middle of the street, there is always lots of traffic - added to which the buses all stop in the High Street, adding to the general noise and bustle.

This little lane is one of several off the High Street and just walking a few yards away from the traffic was very pleasant. Of course, it is interesting being amid the hustle and bustle where there is always something to see and hear, but often a little oasis like this is just what we need, especially in our busy lives.

Reminded me of old hymn which I used to sing many years ago, written in 1875 by Edward Henry Bickersteth:

Come ye yourselves apart and rest awhile,
Weary, I know it, of the press and throng;
Wipe from your brow the sweat and dust of toil,
And in my quiet strength again be strong.

Then, fresh from converse with your Lord, return
And work till daylight softens into even:
The brief hours are not lost in which ye learn
More of your Master and his rest in heaven.


I don't think in the first verse he was talking about the "media" when he mentions the word "press" but it is quite appropriate for these days especially in the UK! Being retired, I don't have much sweat and dust of toil to wipe from my brow, but I still enjoyed the peace and tranquillity and I hope you all manage to find an oasis where you can re-charge your batteries in the quietness and then return to the busy world.

P.S. I must say to my calligrapher's eye, the sign rather offended me - perhaps I should write one beautifully and take it back there sometime!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.