Dominic87

By Dominic87

Forever Green

A severe case of blip-block today. Nothing inspired me to blip, even on a wander after work.

Decided to get ready for my game of 7 a side football tonight and put on my new Hibs shirt. (It's a thing of beauty in my very biased eyes) Why not I thought?! A chance to show my true colours.

This is the Hibernian badge. It is a harp (symbolic of our Irish roots), A castle (Edinburgh) and A ship (The coat of arms for Leith, where we play).

I know a lot of my blip subscribers are not football (Soccer for those of an American disposition) fans so perhaps the love for a football team may be lost on those people.

What is the point in supporting a team?

I often ask myself why I bother. Particularly after a hiding, a cup final gubbing or relegation. To sum it up, It's an identity, a passion and the single most thing you can't change in your life.

Why Hibernian?


In my eyes, you support your local team. I was born and have lived my 26 years within a mile or two of the Hibs stadium. Also, I love what they stand for. The working class, the immigrant workers coming to Scotland making a way for themselves. (My family were immigrants in Leith, albeit not Irish, but the point remains) Hibernian are a team of firsts, maybe not on the pitch but we have lead the way in many things in the football world. We have had players like the famous five, George Best and Franck Sauzee. We wear green. We're from the capital. We'll be around forever, unlike our maroon neighbours.


I miss the football season, can you tell?

GGTTH

My other Hibernian related blips -

1
2
3
4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.