Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Scurrying

Bits of today felt oddly busy, in a limited sort of way - all small scale activities that had me feeling I'd done much and achieved little. The weather played its part: several sudden and immoderate downpours deterred me from some outdoorsy stuff and soaked me when I did gather myself together. 

First, and before I was even out of bed, I felt moved to do something about all these pesky, driven folk who inhabit the Diamond League in Duolingo Italian at the moment. This meant making best use of my Early Bird Chest (double points if you do some exercises before noon) and using up some of the mahoosive collection of gems I acquired from somewhere to buy extra time when I needed it. That done, I felt free to get up and get on ...

After breakfast and some sink-cleaning I joined Himself in sorting out the time of our arrival on our next holiday, where changing time-zones means arriving the day after we've taken off and where an American web site doesn't seem to like the 24 hour clock. We then had some coffee before returning to the fray with Ovo, who have hellish waiting music while they keep you hanging on for hours ... But we've got our refund. Result.

I took the three photos in the collage when I then went out - first to the Health Store for ... well, healthy things and then to the Co-op for the yogurt and oat milk for which Morrison's seem to be unable to keep up with demand. The left hand photo shows part of the old gallows hill, where there used to be a number of fairly massive mature trees. Most of them were felled when I used to be passing to meet a child from school, and other little ones were planted. These now look like trees, though they still have a way to go to match the survivor. The central photo is one way to the Co-op; I prefer it in rain because there's shelter under the huge trees on either side of the path. I love this sort of rural bit running just beside the main road out of town. The last photo is of our street with a rainbow beyond it. It faded quickly as another downpour advanced...

We had a full complement for tonight's choir practice - the first for ages and the last for a while. We worked hard, both on pieces we've done before and one that I can barely remember singing. Then we finished off with Leonard Cohen's Halleluia , which we're going to sing again. Works for me!

Now it seems to be raining again, and there's a yellow warning out for the next couple of days. Deep joy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.