a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Paddling

Leaving the others asleep in their beds, I headed off in the dark before dawn to drive up the coast to Bambrough for an early morning landscape shot.  I knew that there would be a lot of cloud so I wasn't too hopeful that the light would be that great.  The one thing in my favour was that the tide would just have started to recede at the right time, so I packed my wellies.

It turned out to have been a really good idea to pack the wellies as I was eventually just able to stand on a rocky ledge a few meters off shore.  The ledge was submerged every time a larger wave arrived, but gave me some lovely foreground interest. When I first tried it, the tide was still a little too high, and I had to retreat back to the beach proper having managed to just avoid getting a boot full.  

There was one other photographer setting up, and we very courteously went to great lengths not to get into each other's shots.  At one stage he was surprised by a wave and ended up having to take off his socks and trainers.  He eventually came out onto the ledge that I was using and admired my wellies....

In due course another photographer arrived to make 3 of us.  I felt I probably had what I needed and decided to call it a morning and return for breakfast.  I had to drag poor Incredibish out of bed to let me back into the holiday cottage, as we've only got one set of keys to the cottage and I couldn't take them with me. He's a good chap, he didn't even grumble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.